How to read your thoughts and write them down

When I write in my native language (for those who read my blog for the first time I will reveal the terrible truth, it’s Russian) my thoughts lead me wherever they want and it feels like I have no control over my words thoroughly. Otherwise, when I write in English, at first I hear myself in Russian and then transform the thought in another language. That second thought (second interpretation) is always more balanced and I would say “measured”. It reminds me a conversation with myself or a dialogue between a kid and an adult.

We all know that our inner critic only appears after the work is done. We reread what we had written and began to understand how it can be improved and why we should make it clearer. When you have to think twice you start questioning your ideas and put it in doubt without even realizing that.

Interestingly enough, my stream of consciousness in Russian is becoming more conscious after translating it in a foreign language.

And moreover, the need to translate my thoughts instantaneously makes me succinct (yes, my Russian posts were much longer). My inner English critic is evidently strict and relentless. But sometimes he is silent. No, it’s not because he likes and approves all my thoughts. He just doesn’t know how to translate that in English.

P.S. My picture is a pathetic reminder that in the past I was going to become a graphic designer but somehow I gave up.

30 thoughts on “How to read your thoughts and write them down

    • Thank you so much! I used to post in both Russian and English, then I rezlized it took so much time that it eventually became unbearable for me. Now it’s unbearable for my readers who can’t reconcile to my mistakes and still sometimes “Russian” grrrammarr 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I too have experienced this situation, resonate with your line of thoughts. My mother tongue is completely different, and I rarely use English to communicate with my friends and family. But in my country education is in English(at least that’s how it was for me), so that’s how I write and read English. Nice post!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed it. In Russia, English is a second mandatory language (German is rarely). But few students want to pay it much attention. We have to care about math since it’s way too difficult to graduate successfully without high math score.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Oh!! Is that so! Well I know 3 languages- English, Hindi, and Marathi (that’s my mother tongue, it is a sub language of my state). As a matter of fact each and every state in India has its own language, so if we have to converse with someone from a different state, we speak Hindi or English! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You write very well in English…expressful and poignant thoughts most times. Design looks great. You should not give up on your dreams as a designer but keep it as a hobby. Loved the colors 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Marta, your attention to reading and writing English surpasses a large majority of native English speakers born in the language. Your intellect and great humor always comes through clear and concise. I rarely detect even a hint of your Russian accent and when I do, it gives your writing a more endearing touch.

    As a perfectionist, my comment probably only causes you more stress. I think in an English writing competition, I could never win against you and I have been attempting to master English for many decades. Perhaps I’m not a perfectionist or smart either. I do have passion for it, if that counts.

    I am reminded of my learning German through immersion in their society. I finally spoke and wrote without translating in my mind. Then I began to dream in German. When I returned to the U.S. everyone commented on my poor English. It seems I was still applying German grammar and enunciation to my southern English dialect. No one understood a word I was saying.

    I won’t talk about my experiences speaking Korean much. When I say, “I will see you tomorrow.” It comes out, “I plan to bring you much sorrow.” It is so hard to make friends that way. 🙂

    Keep reading and writing. I can see in your graphic, you understand the soul of art. Keep drawing and exploring photography too. Perfection means one tries more than once and smiles before having doubts. -Daniel

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you, Daniel. Your comments always inspire me to explore more. What comes to design, it’s a closed case. Photography… maybe but not sure. I’ve lost track of how many times I began to learn something new and after it became common and habitual, I quitted it. It’s exactly four months since I started my blogging hobby (the longest period of my “steady” passion).
      I hope if I continue to run a blog in English, I won’t forget “the great and powerful Russian language”. Though even now I notice some degradation. The other day I tried to remember the meaning of an old Russian word “десница” but I failed. Now the great and powerful Google helped me refresh my memory and told that it’s the right hand.

      Liked by 2 people

      • LOL! Ah Google! I don’t know how I was able to survive without it. Life was hard back in the pre-Google days.

        I understand completely about mastering something and then loosing interest. My entire life was spent pursuing new interests but I learned many things this way. Now, with Google, I don’t need to know anything. I can just look it up.

        Truthfully, I can see your talent from way over here. That is to say, you can do whatever you like and do it well. It’s very selfish of me to say; but, I hope you will continue to be a blogger and post your pictures, drawings, and wonderfully entertaining thoughts in English because it always makes my day brighter when Marta has something to say or show. 🙂

        Of course, if you post in Russian language I will learn Google Russian and keep reading. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. My husband is a singer/songwriter and for long time he would write lyrics in English (3rd language). However, he feels like that helped him find his way of writing future songs in Russian or Ukrainian. You do an awesome job. I don’t know if I could write an interesting blog post in Russian.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for support. You can try to post in Russian, at least a couple of paragraphs for the beginning. I understand Ukrainian language but can’t speak it. And maybe someday my dream will come true and I’ll learn Spanish and Italian (they are so melodic). But I won’t post in these languages, it would be a disaster 🙂

      Like

  5. Marta, it really doesn’t look like you are thinking in Russian and then translating it in English. That wouldn’t work so well! Your English is quite good almost perfect, you can write way much better than many native speakers!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Super interesting post. My native language is Romanian, and I’ve happened to have the same problem in my native language as Daniel, namely that I messed up the syntax. Not to mention that, living in Germany, the most usual words spring to mind first in the language I use daily (I searched for “doorknob” in Romanian for daaaaaaaays once, hahaha. I’ll be back to your blog, Marta, it deals with subjects that interest me very very much. Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

