Get yourself into motion

While vacillating between two sides of my identity (blogger and amateur photographer), okay amateur blogger and amateur photographer, I’ve found myself in the middle of the crowd watching dance show in our local shopping center. I was lucky getting a place near the stage so that I could take photos without lifting my camera above the head.

image1

The kids have worked really hard during the last year and are excited about dancing for their parents, grandparents, and the crowd of onlookers who happened to be in the mall this evening. Despite their tender age they perform with such drive and verve, it’s no wonder some kids in the crowd started pulling their parents’ sleeves and skirts asking to sign them up for dance classes.

It’s not a top secret that economic situation in Russia leaves much to be desired. Some families cope with the cost of preparing children for school with great difficulty, let alone paying for extracurricular activities. Of course, there are always some alternatives. Dancing at a family holiday party at home is much cheaper than going to commercial dance studios.

But what if your children want to express themselves more often than twice a year?

What if you are starting to realize that your house is going to turn into uncontrollable dance battle with dolls and ribbons and balloons unless you channel your kid’s energy into something creative and productive?

I used to go to Russian folk dance school as a child. It looked something like this:

5224-16b-moiseyev

And, not surprisingly, I wanted something like this:

image2

But there were no similar dance schools in my town at the time (please, don’t count how old I am).

So, as you may notice, children exposed to early psychological trauma have greater likelihood of becoming bloggers. Are you concerned about your child’s future? Have you participated in any extracurricular activities when you were a child?

#FeedYourSoul #LikeNobodySees #RefusedToStandStill #GotInvolved #ShowUpForLife #ChildLabor #JoinTheClub #SomewhereInRussia

22 thoughts on “Get yourself into motion

  1. I danced until I was 20 – my class was a more psychedelic version of the street dance group. Surprisingly, I longed to be a ballerina or wear traditional costumes like your Russian ones! My mum was having none of it – she reluctantly came to watch me in shows but hated the whole environment of pushy parents and 6 year olds wearing more make-up than her. I still miss it a little though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Street dance is one of my favorite styles. I love watching national dance performances in weird costumes but participating never was an option for me 🙂 Thank you for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Life…and a major fall out with my friend at the time who ‘ruled’ the class! I’m not very good with confrontation, haha! I’ve dipped in and out since, but not at a performance level. I don’t think my muscles would thank me now 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I understand you. When I left my dance school, I continued dancing in front of the mirror at home and I’ve been doing so for a long time. These probably were my muscles that had better memory than me 🙂 Now elbow plank is slightly closer to me than dancing 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I did Judo, although I wanted karate, and I had English lessons too, until the day I was promoted to a higher English class which was exactly the same time and same days I had my Judo classes. I chose to continue my path as a Judo warrior, of course… And my parents took me to English classes and that was the end of.the story for my Judo career. Have I mentioned I’m an English teacher now? Mum and dad foresaw the future better than me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Of course, I remember you are a teacher. By the way, I’ve heard that small children perceive and memorize foreign languages through emotions and motions better than through writing and reading. You can combine your natural talents 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Children learn everything without much effort and making them forget a classroom environment and play and have fun works very well. It’s me who wants to learn that from them

        Liked by 1 person

  3. For awhile there, I got into vandalism. Then I got religion and stopped doing that. But I took up evangelizing door-to-door, which was probably worse than being a vandal. Then I went on a drinking binge. And there were those long poker nights. I must say, I kept pretty busy during my school years.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post Marta! Music and Dance are good for the body, mind, and spirit. Anything that makes me happy results in splendid moments of mental Snoopy Dancing. I like to watch all kinds of dance art to include ballet. Ballet often sends my mental Snoopy Dancing into over drive!

    Thank goodness for YouTube or I would be spending a lot of money on formal wear and tickets. I also love traditional dancing in historically accurate clothes. I once attended a dance show where the children were brought to a military firebase in an Armored personnel carrier to keep them safe. They had their traditional clothes and dance and executed to perfection even though most of them would not live to be adults.

    This will always be with me. In their short lives they had that moment of happiness and they shared it with us. I have read a saying to dance like there is no tomorrow or dance like no one is watching. I believe in that like a religion. If you can’t be the dancer, be the spectator.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Daniel, for your kind words. Dance is a form of harmony for me and is one of the tools to find a balance. I’m just wondering where the moment is when we cease dancing wildly like children and start tapping feebly the rhythm with our feet on the floor.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think it’s wonderful that you engage in dance and your attention to physical fitness should carry well into your years with only minor adjustments. The time to tap your foot is when you start spending more time at the chiropractor and pharmacy for pain medications than you do on the dance floor. But, don’t despair, watching others can be very enjoyable and significantly less exhausting or painful on well worn joints. Just keep dancing no matter what! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Marta, I hope I spelled it correctly, LOL! The easiest way to learn improper English is from an English speaker. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I did a ridiculously insane amount of extra curriculars as a child – I just wanted to do everything and my parents, being the wonderful people that they are, kindly obliged. You name it, I probably did it – hip hop and street dance classes included! They were a great way to make friends and firmly moulded me into the incredibly open-minded, go-getter that I am today!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It resonates with me a lot! As I hated Maths and Chemistry and many other similar subjects, I had to compensate this lack of ‘love’ as a child. So I signed up for all those things from drawing classes to athletics and dancing. Long before I turned 12 I’ve already known what multitasking ment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. The dancing looks great. When I was at school we had to do country dancing, The rumour was the teacher who taught it was a former member of the SS who had escaped to the UK. I can still her shout, more like a scream ‘Walk with a bounce!’

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

