Your career ladder

IMG_20150927_173146_208

– I see something blue at the end. Is it the sky? – No. It’s a blue screen of death.

I don’t understand people who work at the same place for years. Now it’s not as popular in Russia as it was in the Soviet Union where people used to work in the same factories for decades. Rising up the career ladder within one company was an evidence of your great skills and high proficiency. A person starts working at a plant right after he finishes high school and he is still working there after retirement.

Now everything has changed.

The more places, the better. Today career mobility is a sign of your striving for success and pursuing a higher standard of living.

I want to talk about an extremely important document for all citizens of Russia. No, it’s not a driver’s license. I don’t want to put my driver’s license on this blog. When I’m not wearing a headscarf I’m not that pretty.

In Russia, we still have printed “labor books” (trudovaya knizhka), which contain official record of an employee’s work history.

IMG_20151027_083332_539

Memoirs of a Russian girl. All my life in four volumes.

HR managers should write down all “steps” of a worker’s career ladder in the labor book. It’s one of the most important documents for each employee. Though, according to recent employment law changes, they are going to be abolished by 2017. Because, by 2016, computers will finally appear in Russia.

When my grandfather saw my labor book with my past work experience, he said that no one Soviet employer would have hired me. Those, who had more than two or three previous jobs, were considered unreliable and irresponsible because they might have changed work due to their poor professional and social skills. Society would blame them for not knowing what they wanted. Those workers were called “fliers” (летуны) that meant they “flew” from place to place like a bee.

Now we are facing an upside down economic situation – the more you fly, the more honey you will have in the end.

#IbelieveIcanFly #MayaTheBee #IdidItAgain #BackInUSSR #CandidCandidate #NoMoneyNoHoney #JobDroppingExperience #BSOD

31 thoughts on “Your career ladder

  1. That’s a really interesting point of view. I was always brought up to believe that you should stick at something for as long as possible, including a job situation. It was almost how life was viewed: take each next logical step to rise up the ladder, just like you might get engaged, married, buy a house, have kids etc.

    So there is part of me that still subconsciously thinks I’m a failure if I leave a job without giving it 10 years of my life! But apart from the fact I get bored of I’m in one place too long, I can honestly say I’ve gained more skills and become a better employee because I have experienced various workplaces.

    Everywhere operates differently, even if it’s within the same field, and ‘fliers’ as you call them help to keep fresh ideas flowing.

    So keep moving I say (although I feel 1-2 years in a job helps to ground you and understand your position well).

    Love the workbooks, I wish I had someone else documenting my work history for me! Think it will be a shame if they’re abolished.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I agree we should stay at least two years in a job in order to gain some crucial knowledge and become an “expert” in this narrow field. Though I’m the one who get bored very quickly. So I can’t stick to the same work for 10 years. The same field, of course, but the same company is more than I can bear. What comes to labor books, people often lose them so it’s becoming harder to know their job tenure length to calculate their pension.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Situation is very different here. Here the more you fly, the more ‘experience’ you are assumed to have. But in truth, to be really good at what you do, do you not have to stay there for long? Also, if you can get bored with what you do, does that not mean you were really not doing what you love?

    :p

    Like

    • Unfortunately, you got me all wrong. The post is not about changing your calling, your professional field or your occupation. Rather, it’s about rising up in what you do. It usually connects with searching for another company where you can sharpen your skills and broaden your horizons. It doesn’t make any sense to work at the same place if you don’t learn something new on a regular basis and every day is Groundhog Day.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Fascinating. In academia in America it is not unusual for a professor to remain in the same university for his or her entire career. I changed places three times and then remained in the final place for 37 years. Thanks for the information.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have a colleague from Korea and he told me he was surprised to see people quitting their jobs and looking for better ones in other companies. In Korea/Japan you normally work in one company for your whole life (like it used to be in the SU), and if you have problems or you are not happy there, you are just not working hard enough.

    But in a modern “western world” it’s normal to look for a better place to work. It looks like in some places it’s impossible to get a raise or promotion without changing an employer, lol.

    I’m curious, what do you do for a living? And how many official jobs did you have that your grandfather was so sceptical about your labor book? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I’ve heard a lot about Japan’s employment system. It contributes greatly to economic growth and political stability. I believe the system also results in the long-term stability of their marriages. But to me, lifetime employment is hard for a person’s emotional system.
      I’d like to stay incognito for a while and not reveal too much personal information like job/confession/marriage/kids/dogs and so on =)

      Liked by 1 person

  5. The old factory system is gone . But , the factory also provided security for retirement — pensions , etc. corporations are backing away from those obligation quickly , too . Now , most people are ” fliers ” I think . Thank god we never had the workers card system as you had in Russia . I’d be dead meat .

    Liked by 1 person

    • Though I’ve noticed that more and more young people think about pensions now. Hmm not sure that 100$ per month (our pensions) is worth thinking about.

      Like

  6. Wow! Great post. I think it is so cool to see and hear how times are forever changing, job markets are changing, and yet different parts of the world are all so different and changing in different ways. What a great read – and such interesting comments.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh, yeah, those labor books, we have them in Romania too. In Germany they have this “fashion” too, with changing work places, but you’re not supposed to have too many, nor too few. Who understands them anymore…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Well, I’ve been a bee for a long time, Marta and I enjoyed every freakin’ minute of it. America was also of the philosophy that people that changed jobs were unreliable. Decades of economic turmoil, massive unemployment, and constant market bubbles bursting like bubble gum kept the population on the move from job to job. For me, mastery brought boredom and I needed something new to make my heart beat again. I climbed the ladder of success and at the top threw myself to the floor, just so I could climb it again. It was fun and I liked the rush of air as I plummeted to the bottom. Now, after retiring three times, I’m back at work because I like it. (The money that is) 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

