Reflect on this

On the 24th of December I’m opening my Reader section. I see a lot of warm words like “eat, drink and be merry”. I wish I could join the celebration. But I can’t. I live in Russia and on the 24th of December (like any other day next week until 31st December) our women try not to eat and drink, so I’m not even talking about being merry. This week is our last chance to get slim to fit into a smaller (as a rule) size party dress.

Russians celebrate Christmas on January 7th. But by this time everyone has long forgotten those attempts to get in shape and calmly takes another piece of cake. The night of 31 December to 1 January is a starting point for a 10-day-long feast. According to our current legislation, we don’t have to work during these days that makes things even worse. After the celebration the only thing we can do is to buy a gym membership.

So how to feast on holiday meals without gaining weight?

Scientists have found that unhealthy (and typically tasty) foods seem less tasty if you eat it in front of a mirror. The research shows that placing a mirror in the room can reduce the perceived tastiness of unhealthy food, which in turn reduces its consumption.

However, this method can’t be applied to healthy snacks like broccoli and cauliflower. They remain as magically delicious as always.

“A glance in the mirror tells people more than just about their physical appearance. It enables them to view themselves objectively and helps them to judge themselves and their behaviors in the same way that they judge others,” said lead researcher Ata Jami, Ph.D., of the University of Central Florida.

A few years ago, I read an interesting article on this topic. The nutrition article recommended, if you feel an overwhelming urge to eat something unhealthy, go for it, but first take off your clothes and try to eat the unhealthy snack sitting in front of a mirror. The article claimed that the desire to eat should disappear as suddenly as it appeared.

The idea sounds not so bad, though I’m not sure this would be suitable for a family holiday dinner.

30 thoughts on “Reflect on this

  1. Well, Marta enjoy your upcoming father winter and winter solstice 🙂 I do love the fact that Russians nearby celebrate New Years for a min. of 4 days..WOOHOO!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Winter solstice was on 21st of December and it was really long and dark taking into account that it was without any snow at all 😦 I hope the sky will take pity on us and Father Frost will bring us some snow 🙂 Merry Christmas!

      Like

  2. Marta, I have to agree with the scientists. If I sat naked in front of a mirror it would kill my appetite. If the woman of my desire sat naked in front of the mirror, I just couldn’t think about food. Perhaps the true scientific benefit with this technique is in the natural tendency to eat less and exercise more. Sounds healthy to me. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Interesting article! It is important to be healthy and happy inside and out. I hope you enjoyed your holidays. If you are interested in healthy eating and maintaining your weight you can follow my blog healthy eating made simple: honeyblife.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. First Bah-humbug on 2 snow flakes looking alike…NEVER, never I say….in my mind the ole saying no 2 snow flakes look alike remains true…LOL….fast before the feast…sounds logical…LOL Hope you had a very Merry Christmas…mine was fantastic…ate to much, drank to much…..but as my daughter saud she is BBB Blessed Beyond Belief…..On to the New Year….kathy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

