Too hot to be true

image_melting

The Revenant is coming soon to our theatres. The movie has been announced to be released on January 7th in our country. I’m looking forward to seeing it. Judging from the trailer and early reviews it’s going to be great, different to anything we’ve seen before.

In The Revenant, Leonardo DiCaprio stars as legendary Hugh Glass, fur trapper and frontiersman. Don’t get me wrong. I love Leo but my headline is not about his appearance. The actor is also an ardent environmentalist. While doing this film, he was doing a documentary on climate change.

In his latest interview on Buro247.ru, Leonardo DiCaprio says:

 “I would really love it, if this Paris climate conference finally saw countries come together to curb this insanity that is going on with our temperatures. This year we had the hottest October and July in recorded history and the hottest year in recorded history. It seems like insanity and it’s happening so much faster than scientific projections ever estimated. There are extreme weather patterns all over the world and it’s actually terrifying.” 

Everyone knows that Russia is a country of snow, harsh winters and severe frosts. It’s generally believed that we have enough snow to ensure continuous snow supply to the rest of the world. But not everybody knows that the hot breath of global warming has touched us too.

According to the Russian weather service, the temperature in Moscow on December 21 reached 9 degrees Celsius. That’s 15 degrees above normal for this time of year.

I’m looking forward to seeing this movie not only because of Leo’s incredible acting skills. Also I will be able to look at snow. A lot of snow.

33 thoughts on “Too hot to be true

  1. Our weather is breaking all records in our history locally. My flowers are blooming and the grass is growing. Later, we will have a freeze that kills everything and then spring will become winter. Plus we have had epic storms and flooding. I don’t have an Arc but I have my eye open for any old man building a huge boat and putting animals on it. We need to work together internationally as the problem is bigger than one country. Duh! That should be obvious, shouldn’t it?

    Liked by 2 people

    • I completely agree on this, Daniel: “We need to work together internationally as the problem is bigger than one country.” I won’t add anything of my own, otherwise I will sound like our President in his year-end press conference.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I read a report that stated global warming would cool down if less speeches were made by American politicians. Apparently, all that hot air is causing global warming and people get cranky when that happens.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. It is indeed scary and, even though I m not a winter person, I did find myself missing a true Christmas this year. Even in Berlin people were out in the sun in shorts and T shirts for a spring run. I mean, come on, this is beyond insane. I don t see how the situation is going to be solved anytime soon. The effects were faster than anyone expected, but the solutions are cut out for the long run, while we need fast action. Too fast. I don t think the shark-moguls will allow ˝too fast˝ to happen.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Totally looking forward to seeing this movie as well, Jan 8th here in the states. On another note, I live in Buffalo, NY. 8 feet of snow in three days last November. This year, first time we didn’t have any snow accumulation by December 15th in 116 years. While I think climate conference are a good thing, I think there are many other things that need to be looked at and researched. Each individual needs to look at themselves and how they contribute to climate concerns. We here in the states need to look at farming and live stock practices as well. So much more needs to be done, and my fear is, it just won’t be enough to reverse it.

    Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree that we should solve the problem by collective decision-making and on individual level too. I try to do everything within my power as well.
      Merry Christmas, Darren!

      Like

      • How do we begin to engage the regular person, educate them and convince them that while it “may not” be in their best interest today, but instead the interest of Mother Nature and those individuals that will live ahead of them. This is a big big challenge.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for an interesting post and great comments from your readers. My philosophy is to begin with what you have control over. The more we consume as individuals, the more we ourselves contribute to the problem. To the extent that can influence decision makers, we must to avoid another 21 years of conferences. Best. Chevvy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Chevvy! The problem of consumerism is another big one. Those two go hand in hand. I’ve noticed I buy much less than ever before and my minimalist philosophy in general helps me make the decisions that are better for me as well as for our planet. No matter how small my impact is, I want to take part in supporting this idea.

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s great Marta, I think some consumer activism/participation is crucial to arresting many problems of the world.Social media also gives us so much more power to ignite the changes we want to see in the world. To often it is said that we have to take care of future generations. The future is already upon and I want to help my children clean up our mess, not leave them with it. Well done on your efforts to do more. I can do much more myself:-)

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Global warming levels have just reached insane new heights! It’s scary thinking about what could happen in the future years!
    FIFTEEN degrees above normal! Goes to prove the uncontrolled global warming effects. It’s horrific!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I am happy to just look at snow, since I’m still thawing out after the winter we had two years ago. But I’d really rather like the climate to not be getting such assaults from human work.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I can’t claim any virtue here — though I take metro, bike and walk most places, the fact that I fly to places like Russia, Thailand, and Morocco more than offsets my efforts at lessening carbon impact. I’ve long thought that if people minimized use of cars and took public transit or bikes, we would make a huge step in the right direction. Above all, if more people took trains from one city to another we’d make really good strides towards lessening the factors of global warming.

    To that end, I enjoyed both the subways and trains I took in Russia — your country has the most beautiful subway system I’ve seen anywhere on earth!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Both Moscow and Saint Petersburg have stunning subway stations. But that’s not all that impressed me; in addition to the aesthetic appeal, Moscow handles several times as many passengers as the subway in Washington, DC, and it manages to work considerably more reliably.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The reason i mention this goes back to your original post: nobody is going to lift a finger to reduce environmental decay if the government provided mass transit options do not work. We don’t have traffic jams like Moscow, yet, but we will soon.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I know. A friend who lives just east of shermetovo told me about a two hour trip to go fifteen miles. It was all because of the traffic jams around the garden circle that particular day, but he told me it was just business as usual in Moscow.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

